INEC declares Fintiri winner of Adamawa governorship poll

INEC declares Fintiri winner of Adamawa governorship poll

Gov. Ahmadu Fintiri of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has emerged winner of the keenly contested governorship election in Adamawa State.

The final results of the poll were announced by the INEC Returning Officer in the state, Professor Mohammed Mele.

Aisha Dahiru, also known as Binani, who was Mr. Fintiri’s closest rival, finished second in the election with a total of 6,513 votes. Mr. Fintiri won the supplementary election with a total vote count of 9,337.

As announced by Professor Mohammed Mele the state Returning Officer, Fintiri scored a total of 430, 861 votes to defeat the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Aisha Binani who got 396,788.

Less than 40,000 eligible voters participated in the supplementary poll, which was conducted in 69 polling places across the state’s 20 local governments.

The incumbent governor of the state was in the lead with more than 30,000 votes before the governorship election on March 18 was declared inconclusive.

Latest News

Before the announcement of results by the electoral umpire, Integrity News reported that the Federal High Court in Abuja on Tuesday, rejected an attempt by the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate in the Adamawa State governorship election, Senator Aisha Dahiru Ahmed, to stop the election from proceeding.

The court declined to hear Ahmed’s ex-parte application seeking an order to halt further action concerning the state election mired in crisis.

On Sunday, INEC declared Aisha Dahiru’s victory in the Adamawa governor’s race to be “null, void, and of no effect”, as per a statement released by their spokesperson, Festus Okoye.

According to the electoral law, the announcement of the results should have been made by the Returning Officer of the election, who is an academic appointed by INEC for that purpose.

INEC has therefore suspended the collation of results and summoned both the Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) and the Returning Officer to the INEC headquarters in Abuja.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.