APC yet to zone 10th Assembly leadership, says National Publicity Secretary

APC yet to zone 10th Assembly leadership, says National Publicity Secretary

The ruling All Progressives Party (APC) says it is yet to zone the leadership of the 10th National Assembly to any region.

The party in a statement issued by its National Publicity Secretary, Barr. Felix Morka, rejected the news making the rounds that the APC has settled for some chosen candidates to head the assembly of lawmakers.

The brief communique noted that zoning arrangements did not emanate from the Party and should be disregarded.

“To be clear, the Party has yet to zone positions of leadership of the 10th National Assembly,” the statement stressed.

The party added that all decisions made in this regard will be properly communicated through the Party’s official information platforms.

Latest News

Daily Trust earlier reported that President-elect Bola Ahmed Tinubu wrapped up plans to pair the former governor of Akwa Ibom State, Senator Godswill Akpabio, with Senator Jibrin Barau as Senate president and deputy respectively.

The duo are among the top contenders for the Senate presidency of the 10th assembly, expected to be inaugurated on June 13.

The newspaper noted, according to its sources, that the president-elect, who returned to the country on Monday after 34 days abroad, communicated his decision to Akpabio and Barau during a meeting held in Abuja.

In the House of Representatives, ten lawmakers-elect have so far expressed interest in the speaker’s position, including the Deputy Speaker, Ahmed Idris Wase (Plateau); Mukhtar Betara (Borno); Abubakar Makki Yelleman (Jigawa); Yusuf Gagdi (Plateau); Sada Soli Jibia (Katsina); Abdulraheem Olawuyi (Kwara); Abbas Tajudeen (Kaduna), Aminu Sani Jaji (Zamfara), Benjamin Kalu (Abia), and Mariam Odinaka Onuoha (Imo).

In the 360-member House, APC has 175 seats; PDP 118, Labour Party 35, NNPP 19, APGA five, while SDP and ADC have two seats each. YPP has a single seat with 3 seats still pending.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.