Sierra Leone, Algeria elected as UN Security Council’s non-permanent members

Sierra Leone, Algeria elected as UN Security Council’s non-permanent members

Sierra Leone and Algeria have been elected to the United Nations Security Council as non-permanent members representing the continent of Africa.

Slovenia, Guyana and the Republic of Korea were also elected after a vote by the General Assembly.

The five countries will join Ecuador, Japan, Malta, Mozambique and Switzerland as non-permanent members of the Council.

While celebrating Sierra Leone’s success President Julius Maada Bio said: “It is with profound honour and a deep sense of fulfilment to convey the news that Sierra Leone, for the first time in 52 years and for only the second time in our nation’s history, has been elected as a Non-Permanent Member of the United Nations Security Council for the term 2024-2025.

“Our candidacy was anchored on the theme of Partnership, Multilateralism and Representative Approach to Sustained Global Peace and Security, and Sierra Leone was elected by an overwhelming majority of the United Nations General Assembly, running as an endorsed candidate of the African Union.

“Our return to the UN Security Council is a generational accomplishment and a testament to my SLPP Government’s transformation of Sierra Leone’s international reputation and standing and our immense foreign policy gains over the past 5 years. Our presence on the UNSC represents our unique success as a democratic and peaceful country of resilience and unbounded optimism. One that successfully transitioned from war to peace while working in partnership with the United Nations. A country no longer defined by the stigma of the past. A beacon of hope and fortitude. A place of great belief that the future will be better, more just and more peaceful because of the investments we are making today in an inclusive and sustainable future.

“As Sierra Leone accedes to this primary global decision-making organ on peace and security matters at the United Nations, let me, on behalf of every Sierra Leonean, express our profound gratitude to our African brothers and sisters and their governments for their unwavering and unconditional demonstration of solidarity. Sierra Leone’s success is Africa’s success. I also thank the member States of the UN for their overwhelming support and trust in the people and Government of Sierra Leone under my leadership.

“On this momentous day, I call on every Sierra Leonean to hold their head high, celebrate, and be proud of Sierra Leone’s historic achievement at the heart of the international system.”

The new members, including Sierra Leone, will take their positions on January 1 and will remain in office until December 31, 2025.

The Security Council is made up of 15 countries, five of which are permanent members with the authority to veto any resolution. They’re: China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.